Uncategorized

It’s all about the prep work

Today I made it down to my studio late.  My own fault, I dilly dallied at home this morning doing just about nothing.  Then decided I needed to do SOMETHING that at least LOOKED productive.  I have also been riding around in the truck looking like Fred Sanford for about a week.

Samford_And_SonsExcept it was ALL up front.  In the cab. It needed unloaded asap!  So minimum that was accomplished.  I toted it all in to the studio and looked around. The possibilities were endless, but  I decided to go ahead and prep what I could now so when I make it the studio the next time, I can just start in on the fun painting and not the cleaning, gluing and tightening.  Not glamorous, but necessary.

So today I am giving you all my secrets on prep work.  Generous to a fault if I do say so myself.

#1 EVERYTIME TSP – I use it to clean furniture of all types.  It REALLY cleans and to me, seems to degloss it a little bit.  You can buy it in powder form (as seen here) or you can buy it is a liquid.  Obviously, I prefer the powder.  Sometimes it takes 2 passes of clean TSP water to get an item really clean. The cleaner it is, the better the finish.  It’s that simple.

#2 today I used Bondo for the first time.  I have been using wood filler I picked up at Benjamin Moore, and before that the Elmers wood filler.  I did some research on what other furniture fixers were using and decided to try the Bondo – I’ll let you know how this works out. Clean up is a bit more with the Bondo versus wood filler.  Hoping the final outcome is worth the little extra work. The wood filler says it’s stainable and paintable, but I have not liked the results after staining, that’s why I went looking for something else.

009

So what did  I get completed today? Well, I washed 3 chairs, 1 table and 1 dresser.  Put 1 coat of paint on a table and 1 coat on a chair.  I left the studio a mess, which will bug me until I get back there to clean it all up.

This is the table that I worked on, and below that is what I am wanting it to resemble when it’s finished.  I hope I am not over reaching for this look …. Not sure either how it will translate on a larger scale.  Regardless it WILL look more modern!

017023

I don’t plan on using the words, just the arrows.  And not EXACTLY like this, but just an idea.  The hairpin legs will still be center stage!

Thanks for stopping by!

Standard

Leave a comment