Uncategorized

Bread & Butter

I think I have said previously that I am not a fan of custom work.  I get so nervous.  I want the customer to be happy, but all I can see are the less than perfect quarter millimeters of paint. So I know right off the bat  they won’t be happy with the finished product. Or they wont’ be happy on how something isn’t exactly even, or wobbly, or maybe not as smooth as I think they would want. But then I ask myself.  Who the hell is running their hands ALL OVER A PIECE OF WOOD FURNITURE?Because lets face it.  That is not normal behavior.  They will touch the part they need to touch.  Move it where they want it and then most likely not touch for a couple years.  (I have been told not everyone moves furniture around frequently nor in and out of their homes on the regular.  I believe this may be an urban legend.)

This week I have been working fervently on multiple pieces of custom work.  Graduation is coming up, summer might be close, mostly just  things customers have put off for awhile but have decided to have done. And I am grateful for it!  I have learned some big things on one, had fun with another, and experimented (fyi, it’s National Honesty Day) with a new paint on another and lastly, almost finished my friends vintage secretary that I promised to paint two years ago.

007

This is what I had fun with.  It’s salmon now, or light orange, or coral.  Depends on who you talk to.  The pulls are amazing!

018This is where a learned a TON!  12 year old outdoor furniture.  This took some research.  And my dad.  He has a power washer and I needed it.  Using the right wand tip was imperative.  AND in a totally off hand way, while explaining how to use the power washer Dad said the soap dispenser was not working, that I should just pour the deck soap onto the table and chairs. HUH?  My research just said clean it, not deck wash soap it.  GLAD HE SAID THAT!  Made  a huge difference. As evidenced by:

019I mean, come on.  The difference is obvious.  Today I sanded all the pieces down and I swear to you, it is almost like new.  Tomorrow is supposed to be warm and sunny so really REALLY hoping to get the stain/sealer on it and delivered!

Lastly, I am painting a cabinet/oversize bookshelf that was painted a colonial red.  WHITE.  I guess she doesn’t read my blog. She does not want it shabby.  she wants it smoothly painted.  She wants a traditional white.   This one is making me sweat. And wash my hair.029Ideally tomorrow all these pieces get dropped off.  And I get my bread and butter.  All the other pieces I post and sell, are just the jam baby!  And I am A.OK with that!  Here is the coral/salmon/light orange piece. Really jealous it won’t be living at my house.

042

Standard

Leave a comment